ILKLEY & DISTRICT u3a



Ilkley History Scrapbook of the Month

Each month we will be adding a different scrapbook of Ilkley from the Archiving group





The Archiving Group was formed in late 2018 at the request of the Ilkley Local History Hub (a joint enterprise between the Civic Society and the Friends of the Manor House) to assist them in future projects with the first being the cataloguing of the rump of the library and documents of the Olicana Historical Society. Originally formed in 1890 as the Ilkley Antiquarian Society, the Society was closely associated with the first museum in Ilkley which opened in 1892 and has evolved through many name changes over the years, adopting its present one in 1972.

Through the kind assistance of Mary Hamilton and the Community Action Bradford & District team at Christchurch on The Grove, some of these items were scanned and a sample of these archive examples can be viewed here.

One of the most fascinating records of the Society was a series of scrapbooks collated from local newspapers on aspects of Ilkley life and local history and these were maintained religiously for a period of 50 years between 1948 and 2000.

The Addingham historian Kate Mason is thought to have been involved in the enterprise but unfortunately the names of the compilers are lost to history. However, they have left a fascinating view into half a century of Ilkley life. 

The run of half a century is not quite complete; there are a couple of missing scrapbooks which we hope, given this publicity, may reappear from some forgotten corner of Ilkley to allow us to scan them also.

Our aim now is to share a new scrapbook once a month, starting in 1948 and working chronologically through the years to the last edition.  We hope you find them of interest.

Click on a picture below to open the corresponding pdf file in a new tab.

 

G4 1967-1971

Saxon crosses / West End mills / new West end church / Ilkley’s oldest shop / Wharfedale railway history / Leeds Road Congregational Hall 1902 / Girton’s painting of Manor House / Twelve Apostles uprighted / Burley Pudding Tree / North  Sea Gas comes to Ilkley / Seventeenth century cottage in Longcroft Road, Ben Rhydding
 

G3 1962-1966

John Prior, eighteenth century Nesfield clockmaker / two fine clocks presented to Manor House Museum / Roman fort excavations 1962 / The Hebers of Hollin Hall / railway centenary celebrations / recollections of Middleton in the early twentieth century and the building of Marsh Ghyll Reservoir / dismantling Brook Street railway bridge / last thatched cottage on the Grove / history of Burley Church / White Wells development row / Thruscross Reservoir opens.
 

G2 1958-1962

Tatefield Hall and Hazlewood Castle visits / old coaching days around Ilkley / Roman road through Ilkley, Manchester to Aldborough / first Ilkley Museum in 1892 / history of parish church and organ / Donkey Jackson / conversion of Manor House / official opening 1961 / Old Burley inns / Roman fort excavation 1962


G1 1948-1958

1949 re-opening of Ilkley Museum after 10 years / Roman occupation / weathering of churchyard Saxon crosses / Ben Rhydding Hydro demolition / Manor House scheduled for slum clearance in 1955 / proposals to convert Manor House to museum & art gallery in 1956 / Swastika Stone / Job Senior, Hermit of Burley Woodhead / tracing roman roads



You are here >>>>>

  • HOME
  • News
  • Ilkley Scrapbook of the month

© Ilkley & District u3a   follow us :   Ilkley U3A on Facebook          Site Map     Privacy & Cookie Policy 2020-21    Contact Us    Top of Page

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software