ILKLEY & DISTRICT u3a

Summer Programme 2024

Events are free except where the cost is mentioned, but there may be a charge for refreshments.

For more information or to book a place, select the blue links below.

If you are unable to register on-line, we will also take bookings at our regular Drop-In meetings at 10.30 – 12.00 on the 1st and 3rd Friday of each month at the Clarke Foley Centre, Ilkley, the Otley, Addingham and Silsden Drop Ins or the Showcase event on the 15th June. You can also write (giving your name, contact details and choice of events) to: Summer Programme Bookings, Ilkley & District u3a, c/o Clarke Foley Centre, Cunliffe Road, Ilkley LS29 9DZ.

For details of our drop-in sessions, select this link

Trouble with login to our website? Select here for guidance.


Date Event
Monday 17 June - all dayHolbeck, Past, Present & Future. Travel by coach (various pick ups) for a walking tour of the industrial heritage of Holbeck. Morning coffee and a buffet lunch included in the cost of £15.
Tuesday 25 June - pm
Who Killed van Gogh. Informal illustrated talk at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Wednesday 26 June - am
'Born of Fire': the Galapagos Islands. Illustrated talk at the Small Hall at Clarke Foley Centre. There will be a retiring collection for charity.
Thursday 27 June - pm
Fun with Handbell Ringing. Come and learn the art of handbell ringing with Chevin Handbell Group at Otley Labour Rooms, Otley.
Tuesday 2 July - am Singing for Pleasure. At St. John's Church Hall, Ben Rhydding, music provided. Be part of our normal singing session.
Friday 5 July - am Table tennis taster session at the Winter Gardens Ilkley, bats provided.
Monday 8 July - am
Walk On Otley Chevin. Meet in the Surprise View (Yorkgate) car park for a walk of approx 2 hours around Otley Chevin.
Tuesday 9 July - pm
The Netherlands. All you did not know about the different geography, history, art, economy, characteristics, culture, food and sports of your nearest foreign neighbours - JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Thursday 11 July - am
Visit to Addingham. The Northern Town Group is offering a half day tour of Addingham, meeting at the Swan Public House on Main Street. This will be a walking tour around the village. Cost £4.00 to cover refreshments.
Friday 12 July - am Table tennis taster session at the Winter Gardens Ilkley, bats provided.
Tuesday 16 July - pm
Pop In And Weave - A Bit. A hands-on weaving experience at Wright Room at the Clarke Foley Centre. Cost: £8 to cover cost of materials (pay online). The cut off for registration is Sunday 30th June. This is to allow the organisers to purchase materials for use on the day.

Wednesday 17 July - am
Tuesday 23 July - am
Wednesday 31 July - am
Wednesday 7 August - am

The Story of Motown Records. 4 weekly sessions talk and presentation (with accompanying music) on the history of the Motown record label at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Thursday 18 July - am Circle Dancing. Join an exisiting group to enjoy circle dancing at Burras Lane Scout Hut, Otley. Cost £2 for refreshments.

Thursday 18 July - am
Thursday 25 July - am

Pre-Raphaelite Lives: Janey Morris, Dante Gabriel Rossetti and John Ruskin. Two linked illustrated lectures at Silsden Town Hall cafe area.
Thursday 18 July - pm Disco dancing 1960s-80s. For those with fond memories of disco dancing. Ben Rhydding Scout Hut, Wheatley Lane, Ilkley.

Monday 22 July - am
Monday 29 July - am
Monday 5 August - am
Monday 12 August - am
Monday 19 August - am
Monday 26 August - am

Walking Cricket at Ben Rhydding Sports Club. Six sessions of 1 hour to use for coaching and as a taster. You do not have to attend all six sessions.
Monday 22 July - pm
Sing Sea Shanties with Us. Easy songs with song sheets. Baptist Church, Kings Road, Ilkley. Cost £2 including refreshments.
Wednesday 24 July - all day
Arts & Crafts Houses in West Ilkley. Presentation at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre followed by a walk of approx. 1.5 miles around west Ilkley.
Monday 29 July - am Walk On Otley Chevin. Meet in the Surprise View (Yorkgate) car park for a walk of approx 2 hours around Otley Chevin.
Wednesday 31 July - pm Summer Book Social. Share a book that you love at Otley Town Partnership Office, Otley
Wednesday 31 July - pm
Escher - Art and mathematics. Presentation of the work of the Dutch graphic artist at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Thursday 1 August - pm
Cruise Ships and Ferries - how safe and polluting are these ships? What are the safety risks of going on a cruise or a ferry? What kinds of pollution does your trip create? Talk at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Tuesday 6 August - all day
Visit the Great Northern Railway Trail. Travel by coach (various pick ups). Talk followed by a walk along the track bed originally linking Keighley to Bradford via Queensbury, offering spectacular scenic views across the moors. A buffet lunch and a train ride on the Keighley & Worth Valley railway included in the cost of £32.
Wednesday 7 August - am
Walking Tour Of Skipton's History with commentary on its features and history. A walk of at least 2 hours, approx 3 miles followed by lunch at the cafes in Craven Court to be paid for individually.
Thursday 8 August - pm Europe by Rail: Where to and how? Presentation at JLA, Clarke Foley Centre.
Tuesday 13 August - all day
Visit to Hoghton Tower and Samlesbury Hall. Guided tours of both venues, travel by coach (various pick ups). Morning coffee and a hot lunch included in the cost of £55.  Last date for booking this trip is Saturday 13th July 2024
Wednesday 14 August - pm
Stroll around Lister Park Bradford: its Botany and History. A gentle walk exploring and discovering more about its history and the plant life, both current and ancient.
Monday 19 August - pm
Singing Is Good 4 You! at St. John's Church Hall, Ben Rhydding. Singing together from songsheets, no singing skills or musical knowledge needed.
Tuesday 20 August - all day A Walking Tour Of Bradford. Meet at Forster Square. The legacy of being the textile and woollen centre of the world is very evident in its architecture, much of which still survives. Morning coffee and a buffet lunch included in the cost of £16.

You are here >>>>>

  • HOME
  • Summer Programme

© Ilkley & District u3a

Registered Charity No: 1070945

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software